Best dog beds for large dogs
Best dog beds for large dogs: 7-inch builds, compared
Large and giant breeds put more weight on a bed, which is why this page starts with the 7-inch options. Both are verified against official pages, and both leave foam density undisclosed — so we compare what is published, not what we wish were published.

The 7-inch options at a glance
| Field | Big Barker Original | K9 Giant 7" Bolster | K9 Tough Ripstop Bolster |
|---|---|---|---|
| Foam construction | 3-layer orthopedic foam (brand description) | 7" solid foam (very firm, brand claim) | Solid foam mattress + 4-side bolster |
| Total thickness | 7" in every size | 7" | 3" (S) · 5" (M–XXL) |
| Largest size | Giant 60x48x7 | XXL 60x46x7 | XXL 60x46x7 |
| Sleeping surface | Not disclosed | XL 45x36 (official, disclosed) | S 20x17x3 (official, disclosed); larger sizes not disclosed |
| Warranty | 10-Year No-Flatten (chewing, accidents, misuse excluded) | 1-Year Chew Proof | 1-Year Chew Proof |
| Price | $249.95–$349.95 | $280–$400 | $140–$390 |
The key difference
Big Barker builds three layers (2" comfort + 3" support + 2" base, brand claim) and backs it with a 10-Year No-Flatten warranty that excludes chewing. The K9 Giant is a single piece of very firm solid foam with a 1-Year Chew Proof warranty. Which one fits your dog depends on which risk you are protecting against: long-term flattening, or chewing and digging.
Read the full head-to-head →FAQ
Why is 7 inches the right reference point for large dogs?
Big Barker and the K9 Giant both publish a 7" total thickness, and both target large and giant breeds. Thickness is a verifiable spec — it is not the same as proof of support. Density and firmness are not disclosed by either brand.
What size bed does my large dog need?
Check the published outer dimensions against your dog's length from nose to base of tail. Big Barker's Large is 48x30x7 and its Giant is 60x48x7; the K9 Giant runs XL 52x36x7 to XXL 60x46x7. The K9 brand notes its Giant bed is for dogs under 80 lbs.